The despair of my Mother

Yesterday was my birthday; I am now considerably nearer to 30 than I am to 20, but it’s all good. As a gift, my family very kindly clubbed together and bought be a Sony 50mm f1.5 lens. I had of course picked it out myself, as it’s not really fair to just say to somebody “just get me a lens for my camera” with the amount of choice out there. As I’m pretty new to this myself, it took me some time to find the one I wanted; but finally settled on the 50mm f1.5 as I wanted a lens for portrait photographs.

The shot above is of my Mum. She was getting really annoyed by me keep taking shots of her over and over again. I was going to take just one more shot as I thought I had set my camera up for the shot I wanted, Aperture Priority with an f-stop of 1.8, but she had already had enough. She threw her head into her hands and told me to bother somebody else. And I took the shot.

I converted the shot into black and white using Photoshop Elements 9 and adjusted the levels and contrast as the original conversion looked a bit too grey. I’m really pleased with the final result.

Taken in Aperture Priority, f1.8, ISO 100 with a shutter speed of 1/80.

Edited as above.

Leave a comment