My Adventures in Pictures

I can’t remember the first time I took a photograph, but I can remember the first photograph I saw and thought: I want to do that.

Growing up, I always remember lots of packets of photographs arriving from TruPrint (in those odd green coloured envelopes). One day, when I was about 7 or 8, I was looking through some of the photographs that had arrived. My father worked for the railways at the time and so was often off to work at odd times in the early morning or coming home late at night. As he was always traveling around the UK he would take his camera with him. I remember it being really fancy, a smart black 35mm camera with a massive powered zoom and a little LCD screen with the battery information and the amount of shots left etc on it. I was really weighty too, solid, people always used to comment on how nice it was. Anyway, whilst looking through these photographs I came across some that he had taken in central Bristol very early on a summers morning. One in particular stood out. Even 20 years later I can still see it as if it was in my hand. I was a photograph taken of the river from the bridge near Queen Square looking up the river towards Bristol Bridge. The way the early morning light and mist blended together, the stillness of the water, the composition of the shot- just everything about it captured my imagination and I found myself wishing that I had taken it. I guess I was jealous! From then on I found myself looking admiringly at people in the street with cameras and began thinking about how shots could be composed. I didn’t do much else in the respect of actually taking a photograph though.

Eventually I was old enough to buy my own camera and I have been taking pictures and experimenting with photographs on and off ever since. It is only most recently that I have started to take it more seriously. I’ve found myself wanting to be better at it, I want to be able to take a better photograph, to show something in a different way than anybody else sees it and to show people the way that I see the world. Of course, if I can discover how to take a photograph so well that it will stay in somebodies mind for 20 years or more, even after the only copy is long gone, I’ll be very happy.

This blog will be my journey trying to get there, developing my knowledge and style.

Below are a few photographs that I have taken to date, with the most recent first.

Leave a comment